Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Waiting for the flowers

Dull today, with spots of rain later. Sorted out my huge collection of potted plants to make it easier for my neighbour to water them while we're on holiday. He happily feeds the cats, but I don't like to give him too much to do as he is getting on a bit.
 
Somewhat of an EB today. A few years ago I bought a plant of Petteria ramentacea, the so-called Dalmatian Laburnum, and planted it in the Drive Bed. It grew fairly well, but a couple of years ago 75% of it was snapped off in the wind - the rest is growing well enough. It's a plant which seems to prefer a warmer summer climate and I didn't expect it to flower very successfully, though it has sported a few flowers in the last couple of years. I was pleased to see quite a few flower heads developing today - this one is the most advanced - so I'm hoping that they won't be over before we get back! With a bit of luck I might get a good picture!
 
Quote of the Day: "A garden is a grand teacher. It teaches patience and careful watchfulness; it teaches industry and thrift; above all, it teaches entire trust." — Gertrude Jekyll.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.