tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Web sight

The grass was dotted with these  dew-spangled webs this morning, like flimsy tissues spread out to dry, a sight I normally associate with autumn. But there they were, and it was only when I enlarged one of the images that I spotted the tiny money spider that constructs them. It's a member of the Linyphiidae,  or sheetweb spiders, a family of very small spiders comprising 4706 described species worldwide.

More about them here.

Money spiders because of the superstition that you will come into some money or otherwise be lucky if you see one. Sounds to me like a technique aimed to quell panic although they are very small creatures indeed.

(I was amused to discover that entomologists do describe spider web locations as web sites.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.