This is the day

By wrencottage

Low Wood

The weather has brightened up a lot, and it is forecast to be sunny for the next few days, which is very encouraging, especially for the newlyweds and our other son and his family, as they will be going home at the weekend.

Smithers and I set off for a walk to Low Wood this afternoon so that I could try and photograph the bluebells in sunshine before they are past their best. Unfortunately Smithers’ back was very painful and he had to turn back after a short while, but he insisted that I go and enjoy myself without him.

The woods were looking wonderful, the bluebells were glorious, not yet past their best, but there wasn’t a lot of sunshine getting through the tree canopy. Nevertheless I wandered happily for an hour or so, drinking in the beauty of my surroundings, listening to the birds and getting down on my knees numerous times (and struggling to get up again with a camera on each hip and creaky knees!). I only saw one couple with their dog in the distance for a brief moment in the whole time I was in Low Wood.

I don’t have one particular shot that stands out from all the rest, so I’ve put quite a few in extras to give a flavour of my walk. I wish I was better at photographing bluebells, but at least I have some pictures of them to look back on in the short, dark winter days, and I can sigh with delight at the remembrance of how fabulous Langdale looks in May.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.