Teasel

By Teasel

Clematis

It’s the May Day bank holiday today.  I had plans for a run and a longish walk, but things didn’t quite go to plan, as it was raining! I did get ready to go out for a run, then spent rather too long watching  the rain, in the hope that it was going to go off.  It didn’t.   I did do a few jobs throughout the morning, not least attempting (at long last) to get chewing gum out of BB’s suit trousers.  I have made a difference, but there is still a stain.  All ideas for removing the remaining stain will be gratefully welcomed.
 
Late morning I gave up on my plan for a run, and decided to pop out to the supermarket for a few things.  I decided to walk as the rain wasn’t as heavy as it had been, and in fact it eventually stopped.  I took a detour and walked around by the river and home by the supermarket, where I bumped into a friend, who was keeping a low profile as her son was being interviewed for a part time job in the supermarket.  She messaged me later to say he had got the job – Hurrrah!  I wish my son was so proactive!. 
 
I came home and risked hanging my washing out (even though it was still rather grey) and then made a late lunch for BB – who had appeared and was supposed to be studying.  The I eventually went out for a run.  It was very damp under foot, but also very muggy.  At least I didn’t need multiple layers for my just under six miles run.  The air was full of the heady scent of oli seed rape and I ran to the sound of skylarks singing, way up high.  I eventually had  a very late lunch, then had to start making tea – an Ottolenghi dish made with prawns and orzo.  It was nice.
 
After tea, I popped out for a short walk to stretch my running legs, and my thoughts then turned to work tomorrow.
 
Emergency blip of a clematis that I walk past most days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.