ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Events

Back in 2015, we went to the wedding of P and E in Bordeaux, and a lovely time we had of it. Today, I went down to London to attend P's inaugural professorial lecture at Kings College London. It makes you feel old when your former PhD students do their inaugural lectures. Three of my former PhD students are now professors....

The train ride down was very smooth indeed. It was actually a haven to be away from other stimuli so that I could get on with preparing a presentation to be delivered on Saturday.

It was very hot when I arrived in London. I sat in the sun outside Kings Cross for a while and had a snack from one of the food stalls there, before catching a bus down to the Strand where I had a cup of tea in the Courtauld cafe and attended a Teams meeting.

The lecture was great, and well attended despite the train strikes affecting transport options (not me, thank goodness) and it was good to see a lot of old friends. After the dinner, R and I got a taxi back to Euston as we were both using the sleeper. I collapsed into my narrow bed and fell asleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.