A good day

Today is my birthday and I've had a lovely day. It started with breakfast at the Nook just outside Alston. It was a nice drive over with the sun shining and lots of lambs to watch as Barry did the driving. The Nook is always quite busy and a frequent stop off for bikers. There were quite a few of them today and also at least 3 car loads of police who called in for coffee and breakfast sandwiches! It was a very jolly atmosphere.
We were back home by 11.30 so with the sun still shining I spent the rest of the day in the garden. Most of that time was spent planting up 24 beautiful lavender plants sent to me by Charlotte, a wonderful fragrant gift. Also rabbit proof, well my older plant is! I've taken precautions and planted some in the greenhouse to get them started. One on its own and put that above rabbit's reach on a table and the rest in large pots to get them established. Those pots are in my little nursery garden which is fenced and hopefully rabbit proof. It was even warm enough for me to get my shorts on and my knees out, the first time this year! I had lots of lovely birthday wishes by phone and text. I got to chat to my grandchildren via FaceTime and a long telephone call from my long time friend.
My breakfast kept me going until tea time and then I treated myself to some homemade bread, damson and apple jam from the Nook followed by rhubarb freshly picked from the garden and cooked that afternoon. A real treat!
It's been a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.