Mydaytoday2018

By Mydaytoday2018

The Fence Post That Grew

I walked passed this Wānaka icon this morning, and there were quite a few visitors taking photos of the famous “Wānaka Tree”. 
2 Australians were looking for “the tree”. And I told them the story of Jill and I knowing when it was part of a fence line…and this willow post grew! They were very disappointed when they saw the tree for themselves.
I don’t know why it is so popular- the shape? The fact it is growing in the lake? Because it surrounded by beautiful Mountains? But FB and Instagram have made it popular.
Life was much more simple when it was a fence post!

It’s 6 years since my first Blip- what a wonderful decision I made back then to join this amazing community when Tussock Tales told me about it. 
Thank you for all your comments, stars and hearts over the years - and even more importantly, your photos of your daily life. It’s fascinating to see the photos from around the world.

9.14pm
Thank you for your wonderful comments - I will reply in a few days, as we have a friend staying.
However, I had to add 2 photos I took from our back yard tonight. The Aurora has been spectacular…it’s changing all the time and I could use up my years extras on them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.