Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Celebrating the start of summer

Tonight we hosted the first of our summer barbecues. Here's hoping that it will be one of many. Our guests were Paddy and Caitlin. 

In my blip, Paddy pours the fizz for toasting the long-awaited warmth and sunshine. The South African rosé made us think of Jon, currently in the US. 

After the supper we moved indoors for a couple of games of Catan. I won the first (thanks to the kindness of Mr hazelh who willingly swapped cards to allow me to complete the longest road), and Mr hazelh the second (more fairly). It really was a marvellous evening, and so welcome after the trials of the past few weeks.

The early part of the day was almost like a 'normal' Friday. I rode my exercise bike, then headed to the gym for my pilates class and a swim while Mr hazelh exercised at home. I managed to adapt the pilates moves to avoid putting any strain on my neck and shoulder, and swam my 30 lengths with a float. I had a little pain towards the end of the day, but I am hopeful that I may be able to stop taking painkillers tomorrow. 

While Mr hazelh was at Jack's playing guitar this afternoon, I prepared the food for the barbecue and set up all the equipment in the back garden. I was very careful when carrying the extra picnic table and the barbecue from the cellars at the front through the house to the back.

Exercise today: 1 hour on the exercise bike; pilates class; swim (30 lengths); walking (12,074 steps). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.