wingpig

By wingpig

much better broadcasting corporations in Latvia

I eventually landed on just walking to the station in the morning, as I was ready in plenty of time and could then not worry about the bike at the station all day. I made it with enough minutes to spare to get a coffee to save my flask for later, saving a minute by having scanned the QRcode on the ticket last night and readied the image on the phone. The woman I saw sprinting desperately past my window towards the barriers walked back through the train a short while after we set off. The weird alternating few-then-many-stops pattern of the trains meant I only arrived ten minutes ahead of the train which left half an hour later, but it was probably quieter earlier despite the incomprehension of several passengers of the concept of a quiet coach.
I had a little time to wander off the most direct path on the way to the day's purpose, but didn't go too far and found the place first before heading to a shady bit of park to eat my lunch and try to stop being sweaty. Once inside, there were no chairs in the waiting room so I had to sit on the only available space in the windowsill, which was unfortunately floor-to-ceiling and south-facing.
After starting around one it was barely half-two by the time I was finished with. I'd launched the Lime app a couple of days previously to check that it was still happy, but lost a few minutes to a couple of dead bikes (surprising, given the area) before giving up and walking off. The 15:00 would have got me home 50 minutes before the 15:30 but it was nice to have another wee wander about and link up a few more bits of known geography; whilst wandering about when down for the Bob gigs in the mid-90s we'd suddenly come upon Broadcasting House from another direction. It would have been nice to have a bit of time to do some sort of thing but there might be another opportunity later in the month. Ideally, I'd have time to get back to one of the Museums or some sort of gallery.
The journey back up was considerably less pleasant than the way down; I scavenged a seat in the quiet coach, but the table across the aisle was occupied with people who couldn't talk quietly or stop talking until one departed at Darlington and the other at Durham, where I was also able to move to another seat with a better view of the castles for the last third of the journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.