Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

After Midnight…

… Well!
When I said yesterday, ‘let’s all enjoy the Northern Lights’, I had no inkling of what we were in for!

We were (tiredly) preparing for bed when a lovely neighbour texted and said, ‘do you fancy an adventurous walk up a hill into a dark area? I think I see the Northern Lights’.

Oh yes! We were up for that!

So we met outside in a couple of minutes. And walked towards a local hill.
The walk itself gave no indication of what we might expect. We were all thinking ‘surely this is a fools errand’.
We entered a local field first, where, upon looking up, the sky was already yielding the most fantastic light show.
We stood in awe and wonder.

Then we climbed higher, up an unlit robbeldy (surely it’s a word?) path (she and Himself, both being left- handed clever folk) as one brought out, from pockets, their well-remembered torches. I (being more special chaotic fumbled for the entire duration with, ‘Help! How on earth do you find the torch bit on this phone?’ It turned out I didn’t ever find it. Nobody cared, bigger things were occuring!).
I found a little silver birch to cling on to in order to feel safe looking up.
We all took loads of photos. All on our phones.. I had not charged the battery on my ‘real’ camera (obvs. Don’t. Just don’t).

But, ‘Being There’, was enough.

This image was taken on our return journey, back into light pollution. But, still magical.

What an adventure!
I couldn’t sleep for ages, it was a very special evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.