This is the day

By wrencottage

Sunshine

It’s been a glorious warm and sunny day today and I wanted to make the most of the sunshine because from tomorrow there will probably be rain every day at some point until we return home on Saturday.

So while Smithers rested in our lodge I set off this afternoon for a walk with my ‘two gun holster’ to try and capture the beauty of this special place. I felt quite emotional because I’m not sure if we will ever be able to come back here, now that Smithers can no longer drive. Getting the train is simple, but the logistics of getting all our luggage up here as well as sourcing our food supplies for three weeks without other family members to help seems too daunting to contemplate at the moment.

I spent a happy two hours walking from Elterwater to Chapel Stile and then taking the path up to the quarry behind our estate. The owners of the quarry site have just been granted planning permission to turn it into a heritage visitor attraction, which is quite a controversial subject in the locality. I created a set of photos of the quarry as it looks now, for posterity, but I am just posting photos of the rest of the walk for today’s blip as they will be of more general interest to those who don’t know the area. 

My main photo is a typical Cumbrian lane, lined with mossed dry stone walls. It was here that I saw a wren, but sadly I didn’t manage to capture a shot. There’s a meadow pipit on Elterwater Common in extras, which I couldn’t identify at the time, so I googled it when I got back. There are also a few other shots of the walk if you’re interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.