JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Columbine and Queen Anne's Lace

Afternoon sun backlighting the self-sown aquilegias, which grow each year amidst a tangled froth of the delicate cow parsley my mum called Queen Anne's Lace: it was a beautiful day - warm and sunny but not hot, with a light breeze, perfect for doing things (or just messing around with a camera) in the garden. 

After a good online yoga class, I needed to stay indoors as I was expecting deliveries (for J - nothing exciting!). I caught up with a some admin and enjoyed bit of knitting with my coffee - I'm progressing, though not very fast, with the red jumper I'm trying to finish for P. Later, our neighbours called with eggs and chatted for a while; J is delighted that they asked us if we would feed their chickens while they are on holiday. I've no experience of chickens, but there are only three and they have a covered run outside their house, so I hope that a bit of training and instruction will equip me adequately. 

I took J outside for her afternoon dessert after her PA finished for the day, helped her to cuddle and stroke the very relaxed cats, and washed another pile of seed trays and modules for the next round of sowing. I didn't achieve a great deal, but it felt like a good day - a bit of sun makes such a difference to my mood and motivation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.