Maureen6002

By maureen6002

All yellow ……

I do very little today but for post-holiday washing and sorting , tidying and reading. It feels as if we haven’t  stopped for days; I’ve really pushed myself and I’m thrilled with what I’ve achieved, but - boy - I’m paying for it now! I’m aching all over and just plain tired. 

After the excitement of last night, the plan is that we’ll go out looking for the lights again. Facebook is full of updates about the likelihood of solar activity - the strength is questionable and cloud cover is a problem. We head to Llanfairfechan which is busy - so many cars parked on the beach at 11.00pm - and reports come in of gridlock situations in places like the Orme and Penmon. Things were busy last night, but nothing like this. And with all the build up, there is nothing; we were so privileged go be last night, but we want more! 

I was so enchanted by the actual lights last night that I didn’t really think of all the different shots I could have taken. Others stayed up for hours, going from location to location; we just stayed in one place and then went home. It was, without doubt, an absolutely magical experience - but annoyingly I’m now feeling I missed an opportunity that won’t come around again any time soon. And I’m equally cross with myself for feeling this way! 

So, having taken no photos yesterday, I’m turning to what would have been my blip on  Friday - ousted, of course, by the aurora. Our trip to Yorkshire was dominated by Bempton, but we also spent time in Whitby, visited  the beautiful Elizabethan Burton Agnes Manor House, and crossed farmland to find all that remains of medieval Cottam village - the derelict Holy Trinity Church. Two other churches featured too; St Mary’s Cowlam and it’s amazing Norman font, and the beautifully renovated St Michael and All Angels in Garton-in -the - Wolds. The former is found literally in a farmyard - all that remains of another abandoned village. 

As usual, I’m struggling to decide on my main, but in the end I’ve gone for a shot taken in Whitby - street photography is not my usual thing, but I just couldn’t resist the colour coordination here! Apologies that it’s not today’s photo, and many thanks for your Aurora generosity!


In extras:
Burton Agnes - playing with light
Burton Agnes - gardens 
Holy Trinity, Cottam 
St Michael and All Angels in Garton-in -the - Wolds. 
Norman Font at St Mary’s Cowlam 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.