Melisseus

By Melisseus

Green

42km of life, the universe, everything, and perfect Oxfordshire. One of those days when it is not too hot, but not cold, not too humid and not too dry, not too windy and not too still. The ground is dry, but the soil is still wet; everything green is full of hope and enthusiasm: drought, frost, senescence and decay are just dark rumours - it will be spring forever

I found a bluebell wood that still looks fresh - most are now over - and took some pictures - a possible blip, I thought. I found an old sign that says "RUBBISH WILL NOT BE TOLERATED" - I'm on board with that. I found a picture-perfect quadruplet of almshouses, but my picture is less than perfect

I found a medieval preaching cross. I didn't know that is what it is (there is no plaque, no fence, no 'thou shalt not', despite it being grade II listed), but it had an aura, and demanded a picture. I researched it when I got home and discovered I had completely missed a menhir in the same place - possibly Norse (Viking), possibly Saxon - called 'The Thor Stone'. The weather forecast threatened us with thunder all day but, like the stone, we missed it. I'll go back another day and gather both of them for a blip

I skirted the boundary of Ditchley Park, and took a picture of sunlight filtering through their woodland. It's a historic country house and park, with stories to tell - a little secretive and mysterious. In the early years of WWII it was used as a weekend retreat by Churchill - a less obvious bombing target than the official residence of Chequers or his own country house of Chartwell

When I started writing, I planned that my nice picture of hawthorn - the 'May' - would be today's offering. Not the white, frothy blossom that quickthorn usually delivers, but bright, rose-red, compound flowers. They are in a field hedge, but I think someone has deliberately selected and planted them for their decorative value. Striking and unusual

In the end, this explosion of green abundance and exuberance overwhelming human artefacts best captures the essence of the day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.