NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Fibromyalgia Awareness Day 2024

Today’s Blip is of a macrame set that I received in the post this week from the local ME/Fibromyalgia/CFS/Long Covid group of which I am a member. I’m hoping to make a start on the wall hanging this week when I can find enough time and energy.

Today is Fibromyalgia Awareness Day and the Council Building in English Street, Dumfries is to be illuminated purple in a bid to raise awareness, one of six buildings across Scotland. 

Fibromyalgia Action UK, a charity for which I raised £85 through a Facebook birthday fundraiser when I turned forty in 2021, encouraged this illumination. No photos online as of yet. I expect there will one posted on social media tomorrow.

I have a lot of time for the charity but not for the purple #fibrolightup…

I think it’s virtue signalling as the Council do not care about those with fibromyalgia. I have lived experience of this.

The illumination of the Council building is never consistent - some years they do it, other years they don’t bother. It’s a shame they couldn’t support those with fibromyalgia in a more proactive way. 

Today has been quiet and agonising and I did a couple of things on my endless to do list, including some hand washing of clothes - still no washing machine since it broke down last August. 

A higher pain day, higher fatigue day. No paced walking today. 

As it approaches midnight, I have now been awake since around 6am. Not unusual. Monday again tomorrow and another busy week ahead, hopefully with some lower chronic pain days. Ever hopeful. Beyond exhausted.

Here’s a link to a YouTube video from the Fibromyalgia Action UK (FMA UK) channel which details the history of fibromyalgia being recognised as a chronic health condition for anyone interested:

https://youtu.be/aCxmgAy9_Gg?feature=shared

Thanks for all your kind comments and stars, I need to catch up with Blip ASAP. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.