Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Mono Monday - People

I drove to the Chesham tip first thing this morning with a carload of rubbish bags, redundant electrical items and stacks of old ‘Which?’ magazines going back to 2018 that I’m never going to have time to read. It’s quite cathartic shedding stuff from my old life now that I’m at last moving forward.

When I arrived in Tiptree, my estate agent Nikki called to say that everything was progressing well and that my buyer is happy with the property survey, which is a huge relief. However I’m still not counting any chickens until we’ve safely exchanged contracts.

After lunch I made a quick trip over to Sainsbury’s to stock up and refuel the car ready for the next journey round to the flat in a few days’ time. Back at the bungalow I had a chat with my next door neighbour Ray, who’s been recovering from major surgery due to cancer at the beginning of the year. He seems to be doing okay, though we’re all feeling that he’s possibly pushing himself a little too much. He’s booked some tree surgeons to chop up and remove the huge willow tree which fell down alongside my garden wall a few months ago. I shan’t miss the very rude kids who have been climbing on it and peering into the garden giving me backchat. Little blighters!

My blip shows Tiptree at just before 5 o’clock this afternoon, when I walked up to collect some medication from Boots. There are just seven people in the shot, one of whom I know. It’s so quiet and deserted after the schoolchildren have gone home. This is why I love it here so much - peace and a slower pace of life. Thank you to Carolina for hosting Mono Monday, with the challenge of posting a people shot today.

PS: I couldn’t resist adding an Extra of the most exquisite rose unfurling in the front garden of our late friend Pam, who lived on the corner at the top of our road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.