Life through the lens...

By ValC

Harold Harvey.

I know you have probably never heard of him but Penlee House Gallery in Penzance is holding an exhibition to commemorate the 150th anniversary of his birth.
Born in Penzance a true ' Son of Cornwall' and a notable member of the Newlyn School artists' colony.

After a brief spell in Paris he settled to a quiet life in Newlyn with fellow artist Gertrude. 

It was interesting to see how his style changed and developed. 
I found it even more interesting as his later paintings were of the Penzance area in the days when my mother used to come down in the summer to stay with her grandmother. 
They reminded me her photos taken back then.

I sneaked a couple of shots. This one of a painting I particularly liked of bathers enjoying themselves just before the outbreak of the Second World War.

The extra is the house where my mother's mum was in service when she left school in late 1800s.
It overlooks Morab Gardens where my grandfather was an apprentice gardener, and presumably how they met.

We woke to wind and rain but have enjoyed a sunny and warm afternoon. 

Oh and had one tyre replaced this morning  and we were lucky the other one wasn't damaged! 
Many thanks to the friendly staff at Kwik Fit.

Another good day in Cornwall 

Had a great evening with C&J last night. They left near midnight !  Hadn't realised it was so late. None stop chatting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.