talloplanic views

By Arell

Inaction stations

This very long and old wooden bench sits, a little forlornly, between the old trackbed of the Edinburgh, Loanhead and Roslin Railway and the unclassified road that leads to the farm at Dryden.  I've almost never seen anyone sitting on it, so I sat on it.  There isn't much of a view though.

I've often thought it looked railway stationish, and I think that's because it is.  There is another nearby too.  I don't know if it came from Roslin Station – passenger trains haven't run along here for 90 years – or somewhere else on the branch line, or indeed somewhere else in the North British Railway or LNER's empire, but it has the characteristic 'knobbly' style of railway benches that I think is NER, and I've seen similar ones in East Yorkshire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.