JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Meadow walk

Back blip
I walked a new - to me - path today, which was a delight. It's not an official footpath, but a fairly well-trodden dog-walkers' path around the perimeter of the huge hillside meadow which runs from the lane, around the curve of the hillside and up to the edge of the woods. I often walk up the side of this meadow, parallel to the lane but with a detour around the boundary of our friends' garden; this time, when I left the lane I followed the hedgerow along the hillside, parallel to the valley road below but well above the houses and gardens. At the corner of the meadow, the path turns right and climbs the hill above the rim of a small side valley which cuts into the hillside and runs down to the main Elham valley and the road. The views were lovely: the things I could see - the hilltop farm opposite me, the trees and fields, were all very familiar but I loved viewing them from a new angle. Close to the woods there were large patches of buttercups and pink campion. I enjoyed the walk very much, and am happy to have identified another route very close to home which I can use when I can only be out for a short time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.