Roll With It

By Falmike

Another Busy Day

A 7:30 start to be on the water by 8:00am, the first hour a training row, second hour a ‘club’ row for exercise and pleasure before heading home for a coffee and shower.

We had a light lunch before Sam, Josh and I headed over to Truro Rugby Club to watch Cornwall Women take on Hampshire. Not as one sided as we thought it might be but at no point did Cornwall look like they might win.

Full time and we were on our way home, another quick coffee and then Sam and I headed to Penzance and the Acorn Theatre. The Acorn is a small theatre, well loved, with great acts and bands but for me it was my first time.
Sometimes things catch our eye and we think; “why not” and so it was with Meet Tommy Atkins.

A monologue by Peter Gill, “Meet Tommy Atkins’ takes the audience through his war – a war that saw him fight at Ypres, Passendale, Loos and on the Somme and that took him to the depths of despair but also brought him unique comradeship that he would never find again. It also takes Tommy through the inter-war period when many of those that had fought in the war returned to a country that was definitely not a country fit for heroes, and then past a second world war and into an era when social benefits were introduced”
I felt connected, spellbound, two and a quarter hours passed in a blink, it’s hard to explain how much I enjoyed it. Sam was in tears at the end and not the only one. I don’t know how I felt, a little melancholy I guess, I bought the book and Sam had it autographed, I’m looking forward to reading it.
Highly recommended, if Meet Tommy Atkins comes your way don’t miss it.

A quick KFC for dinner for the both of us before heading home for one last coffee and bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.