Fotomatikus

By hazelh

A third birthday present

I remember being very cross aged two when the plank of wood that my middle sister and I used as a see-saw disappeared from our back garden in Kendal. When I turned three, I discovered the reason for this. Daddy hazelh used the wood to make this car for my third birthday present. It was so lovely to see it today when Mr hazelh brought it down from the attic of my mother's house. I haven't had sight of it for at least forty years.

Mr hazelh, my brother-in-law, and I returned to the house again this morning for the last day of this phase of our project to clear it of my parents' belongings. I mainly worked on my bedroom (which my not-so-little sister had been using until recently because she can't get into her own) and my brother-in-law on that of his wife (my middle sister). Meanwhile Mr hazelh brought zillions of filthy boxes down from the attic, many of which include items related to me and my middle sister, such as school exercise books, university notes, and the letters that my brother-in-law wrote to my middle sister when she left home to start her degree in London. 

The auctioneer also returned in the late afternoon to meet my not-so-little sister for the first time, and update us on his research into the value of the items that he viewed at the house yesterday.

By the time Mr hazelh and I left to return home to Edinburgh, and my brother-in-law for Holy Island, the drawing room looked like an antiques salesroom, my bedroom was almost completely cleared (my middle sister and I just need to remove our boxes, and we need to dispose of the old bed - see the extra), and my middle sister's room is ready for the not-so-little sister to dispose of tip and charity shop items. Most of the remaining sorting needs to be done by my not-so-little sister because it concerns her belongings. These are mainly in the kitchen, on the upstairs landings, in her bedroom, and my mother's bedroom (which she has commandeered since I threw her out of mine!) The scale of her work can be seen in the extra of the entrance to her bedroom.

On our way home Mr hazelh and I stopped in Melrose for delicious beer battered fish and chips at Marmions. Once back at the flat, we couldn't wait to climb into the bath and remove from our bodies the accumulated grime of the past few days. Even Mr hazelh's snot is grey!

Exercise today: walking (17,826 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.