Gaia's Child

By maura143

Florida Plums

We have two native plum tree here in Florida. The Chickasaw Plum and the Flatwoods Plum are favorites of the birds and other creatures but their fruits are small and bitter, at least to my taste. I have eaten jellies and preserves made from them but it takes a whole lot of sugar to make them palatable, IMHO. There are specific varieties of "Gulf' cultivars that have been cultivated by the Univ. of Florida and will thrive in our 'warm/hot' climate. Gulfbeauty, Gulfblaze, and Gulfrose grow well here in North Central Florida. The beautiful plums above are tree-ripening in a neighbor's front yard. I've been told to pick as many as I would like and allow them to 'ripen in my kitchen.' And I'm doing just that! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.