Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

From a Railway Carriage.....

RLS planted an earworm as I went on the Borders Railway to Gala this morning.

Faster than fairies, faster than witches,
Bridges and houses, hedges and ditches;
And charging along like troops in a battle,
All through the meadows the horses and cattle:
All of the sights of the hill and the plain
Fly as thick as driving rain;
And ever again, in the wink of an eye,
Painted stations whistle by.

Written in 1885 it's still just as relevant, particularly this first verse.
I left Edinburgh on the 9.15 train with the chill of the haar meaning I needed to wear a jacket and cardigan. An hour later and I was peeling off the layers in the Borders sunshine.
We had a small but very friendly gathering in the church hall followed by a bring and share lunch. Too much food as ever.
I took a card with me for everyone to sign for my friend Mike who is currently in the Royal waiting to have a pacemaker fitted, hopefully on Tuesday as it's a holiday here in Edinburgh on Monday.
The journey home was also in the sun although I was smart enough in both directions to sit on the shady side of the carriage.
We popped over to Ali's briefly to drop off a bag of food for Marvin. 15kg is a tad heavy too heavy with the buggy and a 2 year old in tow.
Hope it's another sunny day for us all tomorrow, I'm for an early night tonight..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.