peterdawson

By peterdawson28

Crafty...

The words "Artisan Fayre" push quite a few of the wrong buttons for me. The first word is, in my opinion, one of the most overused/abused in the English language, right up there with "iconic", the second is the kind of twee spelling that conjures up images of a Hollywood created "Merrie Olde England" which never existed. I guess that "Craft Fair" is just not 21st century enough for some people.

Having put my grumpy personal prejudices away for the day however, I can report that I spent a delightful afternoon with my niece and nephew at the Hampton Court Artisan Fayre. The forecast bad weather stayed away, and in fact the sun came through later on which made the whole place come alive.

Niece and nephew were keen to take part in an origami session led by origami master Coco Sato, a lovely lady who features in the blip. I really recommend that you visit her website and check out her page on Instagram. My lack of creative talent always leaves me in awe of those who possess it, and I found her work to be jaw-dropping.

In a different medium, but perhaps equally impressive, I've included an extra shot of a stall on which everything had been crocheted by hand, yes, even the peacock!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.