About to unfurl

Orewa is north of Auckland with a subtropical climate. Needless to say it doesn't feel subtropical in the middle of winter, but it's warmer than Christchurch (which isn't hard as we haven't had much use for the top half of our thermometers for a while).

Air NZ looked after me on the flight up. It went as well as it could have considering. I was relieved when it was over and even more pleased to finally to arrive at my parents home.

Unlike the South Island the North Island had little cloud cover. The views from coast to coast, snow covered peaks of the Central Plateau and sparkling Firth of Thames and Hauraki Gulf reminded me how lucky I am to live in NZ. Here's hoping we learn to value our environment more

By the time I unpacked and had a sleep the light was fading and the weather turning. Dad and I did a few errands and I walked the last part back to their place. I saw countless fruit trees in front yards laden with lemons, mandarins, oranges and grapefruit. So many lay rotting on the ground I could weep! I'd forgotten this aspect of winter in the north. (Only a few hardy lemon trees frost protected tucked in against north facing house walls survive in the south).

No bananas at this time of the year but plenty of new leaves preparing to unfurl.

Tomorrow is Mum's 80th birthday and my wider family begins to gather. My sister, Jennie has a birthday today. She and her family have arrived in dribs and drabs from Oz today. They are staying in central Auckland. We'll catch tomorrow after everyone has had a good nights sleep.

Celebrations for Mum's birthday are Saturday and Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.