Bom

By Bom

The Joys of Spring

I had a lovely morning at Pensthorpe, a beautiful sunny morning. I couldn't choose a single photo, so have posted a collage instead. I wanted to see the avocet chicks and two have hatched so far. There were a few bearded tit chicks making their initial exploration of the very large aviary. I also saw goslings, a duckling and lots of damselflies. The central photo is of the flamingo nest. The board said that flamingo nests look like mini, muddy, sandy volcanos. They are built 20-50cm apart and both males and females incubate the eggs. The first chick bred at Pensthorpe was Cosmo in 2019 and this year is his first breeding attempt. So good to see the breeding programme doing well. This afternoon I sat in the garden reading the paper. Then I planted two trays of bedding plants I bought this morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.