Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Wetlands Update

I headed into Woking today to use some vouchers on the point of expiry in the never ending feed of art equipment.  One the way back I dropped into Heather Farm Wetlands, a meadow SANG (Suitable Alternative Natural Greenspace) and wetlands nature reserve reclaimed from an old mushroom farm, managed by the Horsell Common Preservation Society.

Since my last visit there has clearly been some significant work done in the wetlands area: clearing some of the scrub and water scraps, enlarging the lake and adding benches.  This seems to have been of some benefit as I saw more birds using the lake and the water areas were teeming with life.  

I was delighted to spot marsh orchids and dragonflies, including this four-spotted chaser gleaming in the sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.