madwill's world

By madwill

Guelder Rose

This is a new one on me…I spotted it while out on my walk today, but it would be easy to miss it as there is an abundance of white flowers in the hedges and verges at the moment…cow parsley, hogweed, hawthorn, elder and dog-rose to name a few.

It is ‘viburnum opulus’ (I think, but stand to be corrected) and there only appears to be just the one tree along the hedge in the old lay-by near the village.

I quite like the arrangement of large white flowers around the central cluster of little flowers…Google tells me that the large flowers are sterile and the little ones eventually go on to produce bright red berries.

Our cat guest has found a ‘safe place’ on a dining chair tucked under the table and he has been curled up there most of the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.