Living my dream

By Mima

Drained

It has been a drizzly cool day and I am trying to take it easy, but by lunchtime I was desperate for exercise. I decided on a walk. So we headed off to Bortons Pond. It is flat easy walking: ideal for my sore buttock, although sitting in the car to get there is not quite so ideal.

I was surprised to see that the Pond has been drained, to allow for some work to the bridge over the main outlet, which - although usable - has had hazard tape wrapped round it for at least three years. 

The water was down about 2 metres and easily low enough to enable us to walk over the ford, and we did one full circuit of 5km. I took it slow and it was enough for my leg. 

There were pools here and there full of Coots and NZ Scaup (chattering their "biddly-biddly-beep" calls") and shags in the trees overhead. 

In the slower than usual channel downstream from the main inlet there were quite a few large trout acting a bit like basking sharks. It was mesmerising to watch. There was so much activity that I suspect they may have been spawning. The extra shows the channel, but somehow I didn't catch any of the trout on trout action.

It wasn't a day when I got wet exactly, but I ended up with a sheen of fine water droplets clinging to every strand of hair and clothing. I felt very damp by the time we returned to the car, and Bean needed a towel-down. Her paws needed a wash when we got home after she'd investigated the muddy wastes...

I hope it's a better weather day tomorrow. Some sunshine would be welcome. And a reduction in pain would be even more welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.