There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Four Amish Fishermen / Three Little Girls

The happy news is that some of the swimming areas have begun to open at the state parks, and my husband and I decided it was time for the first swim of the year. So off we went to Whipple Dam, which is quite possibly my favorite local swimming hole.

We thought we'd be the only ones there, but we were surprised to discover a fair number of other people had the same idea. The swimming area was open, and three big piles of sand sat waiting to be spread out over it. 

On the other side of the lake, there were three dozen or so Amish, hanging out in two of the pavilions, having picnics and going fishing. They are also referred to as the Plain People, and/or Pennsylvania Dutch, though they are actually of German origin.

The first swim is always a much-looked-forward-to event for me. I love to swim in cold, clean water. It does something for me that nothing else does. It gives me a deep sense of relaxation, invigoration, and comfort, all at the same time.

I was also wearing a brand new bathing suit, a red one I'd bought at deep discount on Amazon in the depths of winter. It is a somewhat conservative, racer-back, one-piece deal, with enough cup support to keep the boobies from bouncing all over creation, and full coverage on the cheeks. 

The price was right. It typically runs for about $32, but I got it as a lightning deal and an additional percentage discount for $8.25. I looked forward to taking it out for its first spin.

Things at the park seemed rather busier than expected, and so when I got home, I looked it up. As it turns out, this day is one of the big Amish holidays. It is Pentecost Monday, sometimes called Whit Monday, which is celebrated 50 days after Easter Sunday.

According to this source, "they recognize this day as the day the Holy Spirit fell on the Apostles. . . . Pentecost actually falls on a Sunday, but the Amish take the following Monday off to rest. They use the day off to reflect on their faith and remind themselves that their faith is more important than work and money." (You may find more info about the Amish in general here.)

As we parked the car and walked over to the beach area, we ran into two young ladies carrying two little girls in their arms. They were all barefoot. They looked at us solemnly; didn't say a word. You may see three of the four girls in the extras, wearing shades of purple and blue.

The men in the group did a lot of fishing, and the little boys got into the act too. Above you may see an adult man and three little boys casting their lines into the water. At this point, it is catch-and-release-only there, according to the signs. I took the picture; looked at it later; thought they almost looked like they were dancing. (Also, what is this? Counting with Amish? Four fishermen, three little girls. . . . )

The Amish group had been brought here by van and by truck, and around 3 p.m., their rides showed up to begin taking them away. They loaded up the big coolers and slowly began the process of heading home. The Amish don't typically own cars (or have electricity or cell phones), but they may seek favors, or rides that they pay for, from non-Amish neighbors.

At one point, as we were getting ready to leave the swimming area and head back to our car, I was standing by the beach, looking at the scene. A bunch of young bathing beauties, with very brief swimsuits and bodies on display, stood in the water on my side, looking across the way. 

An Amish family, fully clad in their dark garments, sat on a picnic table on the other shore, looking back at all of us. I snapped a few shots but they just didn't capture it how I wanted; the groups were too far apart to make a good shot. The two groups surveyed each other in a sort of culture clash that was a very peaceful one, to be sure. Each group just looking at the other. Very old ways, and very new ways, meeting on these shores.

My husband and I left and went home, and as we washed and hung out our suits, I started rating my new bathing suit experience. I told him the suit was comfy, and supportive, and the fabric was nice, and seemed to dry quickly.

I'd give the new suit a full 10 out of 10 for its first performance, I said. He allowed that HE would give the suit a full 10 out of 10 only after he gets to watch me run down the beach in it in slow-motion, like I'm some sort of BAYWATCH BABE!

Now, I am glad he did not make this remark while we were at the park, as I'd probably have felt challenged to oblige. We're fortunate that didn't happen. Some sort of Central Pennsylvania Baywatch scene, starring me in my new red swimsuit, amid a bevy of dark-clad Amish. You wouldn't want me to provoke some sort of international incident, now would you? WOULD YOU? ;-)

I've got two photos of the Amish at Whipple Dam for this posting. So let's have two songs. These are both selected in honor of the holiday, Pentecost Monday. And in spite of the jocularity I've inserted here and there, I share this posting and this story and these songs, with full respect and appreciation for our Amish neighbors. Here are Rising Appalachia, with I'll Fly Away; and the Indigo Girls, with Secure Yourself.

Bonus: Another favorite Amish story
Belleville, PA: Amish Buggy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.