JohnW

By JohnW

The mark

Last Tuesday I blipped my mum and dad’s serviette rings, so this week, with little else to blip, I have done a macro of the silver hallmark.
 
So what should have been a quick and dirty blip has turned into the best part of an hour’s hallmark searching.  The silversmith and year etc came fairly quickly, but the head at the right end?  I finally found the lot on a different serviette ring, so combining all my finds:
 
English Sterling Silver Napkin Ring, Birmingham 1935 Jubilee Hallmark, Henry Griffith & Sons Ltd
 
My educated guess is that the rings were a wedding present, but I sadly can find no record of when they were actually married.  Very sad, I’m going to have to dig deeper.

Many thanks to Incredibish for hosting TinyTuesday this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.