Life on the Mothership!

By TheMothership

I cannot believe I am writing this but Molly was put to sleep today due to her rapid decline physically over the weekend. This was me waiting for the vet, wanting to think a miracle was possible but knowing what the outcome would be when vet turned up. She was the brightest of horses and an amazing mare. Very independent but once she allowed me in that was it. She taught me so much about horses and what a real relationship between horse and human could be. I asked and suggested, she chose to follow or not. She taught me to respect her choices and to allow her to say no. I do not know how I will manage without her as she was my sanity and saving. She knew all about transport issues, disability funding issues, she was used to heading to a grass verge whilst I argued on the phone with some bastard or other about Big Fish’ needs. She would stand and wait patiently, unattached, whilst I suctioned Big Fish even mid carrot. I could even drive his power chair with my foot whilst sitting on her, not far just to turn him out of the sun but how many horses would safely do that?
‘Molly, Molly Must I?’ was truly a one off. I am devastated. And just for those who know about staffing issues and carer support (or lack of) I had to arrange it all before Big F’s pick up time. She would have been 22 tomorrow. Thank you Molly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.