1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Like a duck to water ...

Had a lovely day out in the sunshine - well, until about 2pm ...

Sav's doing his motorbike test over the next 5 days and has to meet his trainer on Blandford Camp, a military base. Even I had to have a security pass just to drop him off as it was a mile inside the base. Didn't take any photos there as I didn't think it would go down too well, despite how friendly the soldiers were!

I went off to visit 3 National Trust properties in the area, White Mill, Bradbury Rings via the Beech Avenue, and Kingston Lacy.

At 2pm I shot off to Blandford to find a pub showing the tennis and waited there for Sav to finish day 1 of his test. We decided to go once he arrived so's I could watch the end of the match from the comfort of my own sofa - and shout and shriek without embarrassing myself!

On the way we stopped to photograph a field of poppies and Im quite pleased with some of the shots I got but just had to blip the photo above.

The story behind it is this - I'd been down to the river to try to catch the damsel flies, but they weren't playing the game. I had a nice chat with a lovely horse in the field and we seemed to bond! Just as I was leaving some people arrived carrying 2 boxes which I assumed had food for the horse in them. Then I was told if I'd like to get my camera ready they were about to release some ducklings that had been born at the school, nowhere near water, so they'd brought them down to the river to release them.

They opened the boxes and they all hopped out and legged it straight into the water. We all wished them well as they swam off to their new lives. All together now, aaahhhh!!!

What was the other high point of the day? Oh yes, there's a new name for that hill at the back of Wimbledon - Murray Mount!!!!

Well done Andy, I knew you wouldn't let me down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.