77 Years?

Here's a wee experiment. Go to Google and do a search on the phrase 77 years...

Basically every hit refer to an single event that happened yesterday and all generally reference Great Britain's drought and waiting for a Wimbledon mens champion.

Now go look up the 1977 Wimbledon finals, a mere 36 years ago. Notice anything? Yip, Britain had a Wimbledon champion in Virginia Wade and although a lot of the headlines do refer to the 77 year hiatus of British 'mens' Wimbledon champion I think it's a bit disproportionate and slightly ignoring of the fact that women play the game as well and play it well.

Now I can't pretend to have previously known this fact rather it was pointed out to me but it kind of went along with my feelings of the whole Andy Murray, doing it for his country, delivering us as a nation, kind of banter we've been getting. Don't get me wrong, a tremendous feat and I know how hard tennis is as a sport but I hate the whole 'nations hopes on his shoulders' type of thing in what is essentially an individual pursuit and the emphasis should, I feel, be more on, look what one person has done for himself.

Right I'm going to get back off my soapbox again for another couple of months but I think I was spurred up there by the Tour de France 'podium girl' debate that I've been following the last couple of days. I'll leave that for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.