WhiskyFoxtrot

By WhiskyFoxtrot

And then the Haar came...

Definition of haar
noun a cold sea fog on the east coast of England or Scotland
Origin: late 17th century: perhaps from Old Norse hárr, 'hoar, hoary'
~ Oxford Dictionary online

We never had haars where I grew up. I almost wept at my first experience of one in Scotland. We had had two lovely days, I thought summer had finally arrived and then a cold mist rolled in to steal it away.

I have come to accept them. I don't fear them and I don't look forward to them. They can be rather spooky as they roll in at night, like something out of an old black and white film starring a chap called Cecil. I may not capture the nighttime haar. This was the closest I came today to showing how that mist rolls in.

Surprisingly, however, it stayed warm. Go figure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.