LillyLyle

By LillyLyle

Beach at Gullane

For once I managed to pick the right time to take a week of holidays.

I got on the North Berwick train with my bike, got off at Longniddry and then cycled to Gullane. Though the road along the coast is in need of some improvements for cyclists, it is a gorgeous route, passing 18th century Gosford House with its new bothy shop, the beautiful village of Aberlady and huge views of the sea the whole way.

I do love Gullane. Today it was bubbling with activities leading up to hosting a major golfing event in a few weeks. Lovely wee shops and cafes.

I parked my bike and plodded off through the dunes to find my perfect spot.

This picture was taken at 5.00 PM when it was 26ºC. Slathered in sunscreen, I enjoyed the mild breeze and the hot sun and then cycled off home around 7.30 after a day of sea air. The traffic was very heavy so I ended up cycling most of the way along the John Muir trail, some of which is quite onerous on a bike, but parts of which were gorgeous. I'd forgotten how beautiful a pine forest smells on a hot day.

Waiting for the train at Longniddry I enjoyed the company of the station cat, a big white and pale-orange beast who could not get enough attention. After sitting at the old fashioned train station with its white picket fences, I felt a bit of 'future shock' when an obviously completely brand new train set rolled up. It smelled the way a new car smells inside, was air conditioned and looked like something out of a Star Trek film.

One of my favourite things about Scotland is that the trains have areas for securing cycles and that it costs nothing extra to bring your bike along. You can pick a town at random and go exploring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.