Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Sabina

Identification - orthetrum Sabina Sabina.
Seed head - Bidens pilosa, Cobbler's pegs '

I decided for a change to pop around to my old blipping grounds, 'the grove'. Quite a bit of bug activity; hoards of hoppers as usual, but I also saw a large black and yellow carpenter bee which I haven't seen for well over a year. I saw cuckoo bees and blue banded bees, but was unable to get a shot in. This Sabina dragon kept hounding me, begging to be blipped, so I eventually gave in and obliged.

It was resting on a seed head between hunts. Ironic, as these seed heads are a real pain, with the seeds attaching to my clothing and very difficult to remove. They will not brush off and have to be individually picked off. I have never paid any attention to them before, but from this image, I can now see why they are so clingy.

This is also a good image showing how the dragon uses its legs when perching. The rear legs are pushing, the middle pair are pulling and the front pair are folded up behind the head, coiled up ready for the next hunt.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.