Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

Heard of Knuckle Dusters?

My education has been extended today! I've heard of knuckle dusters, but I'd never heard of a knuckle boom before. I'd have had all sorts of crazy guesses if someone had asked me what one was, but I'd never have guessed it was a type of crane. I would never have expected to have a little ride in one either, or, have one come down my drive!

We had quite a storm over New Zealand about three weeks ago, that caused widespread havoc and damage, including lifting the roofing iron above my living room area, so much so that the top edge became loose, and banged around in alarming fashion. I've made several enquiries and complaints, and the short version of the story is that this crane was delivered, down the drive, so that the roofer could access the loose iron. When he arrived a little later he was absolutely appalled that it had been driven down the drive, said that there was no way that he'd have driven it, and that he didn't know how they were going to get it out.

In the event, he climbed up onto the roof from the deck, via a ladder, and the crane wasn't used at all. What's more it's still sitting down the drive, it's now just on dusk, and my car is still sitting up on the roadside!

At least the roof's been fixed. You can't rush things in post-earthquake Christchurch - yes, the roof fixings had been loosened by the quakes - they were ferocious up here on the hills - and the wind had finished it off. It never rains but it . . . . . no, that's not an appropriate phrase right here - have to think of another one. All contributions gratefully received!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.