DBE

By DBE

Can we have our ball back?

I rushed home from work to see the last few balls of the LV= County Championship encounter between Gloucestershire and Kent at the Cheltenham Cricket Festival. It was literally as I entered the ground that either Michael Klinger or Dan Housego (I didn't find out which of them) hit a six out of the ground and onto Thirlestaine Road - I hope no-one got injured! This shows the umpire looking concerned as to whether the ball will ever be found again! Two more deliveries were bowled and then Gloucestershire declared. Whilst I didn't get to see a whole over bowled, I was bowled over by this final bit of excitement! Wishing everyone a happy weekend.

PS. For those interested in the match... Gloucestershire won the toss and decided to bat.
Gloucestershire 1st Innings 562 for 5 declared (140.5 overs)
Kent 1st Innings389 for 5 declared (100.3 overs)
Gloucestershire 2nd Innings237 for 1 declared (41.5 overs)
Therefore, Gloucestershire have set Kent 411 to win on the final day. Like England against Australia I hope that the home side will win!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.