Bournemouth Pier...at Dusk

Have wanted to try a long exposure of Bournemouth Pier after dark for a long while, so I nestled my Gorilla-Pod into the sand, as the waves crashed in and out.

A balmy evening after a hot day and the beach had been very busy - and their litter covered the place. I first started when exposures were no more than a second and I just kept running them off until the exposures were 30 seconds. This one at 15 seconds gave about the best balance between light and dark and as the pier wasn't as brightly lit as I perhaps expected, later ones just did not get better.

The ultrawideangle view makes it look as if the sea is some feet away but in actual fact, some waves flowed in up under the camera! As I had the camera in Mirror Up mode, which fires the shutter a full 30 seconds after pressing the shutter button, timing was next to impossible to coincide with an incoming wave.

But, I'm quite pleased with the result and suggest you look in LARGE

I shot a short two minute video soon after from the same spot - just the waves crashing gently on the beach, with the lit-up pier in the background. The original quality was quite a bit better than it is here.

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm

Tomorrow is supposed to be the hottest day of the year, here, and I guess it'll be even busier on the beaches than it was today. Everybody, whether enjoying basking in this heatwave, or elsewhere, in colder climes, all have a GREAT weekend!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.