WeeChris

By WeeChris

Up close and personal; small tortoiseshell

When I first became interested in butterflies small tortoiseshells were common, so I soon gave them only a passing glance, but a few years ago their numbers plummeted so in the course of a whole Summer I might see no more than a handful of individuals. Well, either their numbers are recovering, or there has at least been a successful season here in Kent, because today I've seen dozens of them.

I also saw a comma (with that lovely scalloped wing and the rusty colouring), several ringlets, many meadow browns, a couple of common blues, and a marbled white. Lovely. Took over 200 macro shots.

I liked this Macro because it gives an odd perspective and bares a rather menacing tone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.