Sunshine at the seaside!

Another beautiful day, a little less hot than yesterday, but still 22C, which is fine by me...... and sunshine all day. Had a wee trip down to Ayr after church in the morning, it was "hoachin' " as they say, people in bathing, lots of kites, lots of children eating ice cream (adults too) the swings were packed, and everyone was having a good time. No hassle.

We walked along the promenade and out of the crowds, and eventually walked along the beach to the ruins of Greenan Castle.

Dramatically perched on a sheer coastal cliff it was built in 1603 by John Kennedy of Baltersan on the site of an earlier castle raised by the Davidson family. It is so close to the edge of the cliff that each time I visit Ayr I expect it to have fallen on to the beach or into the sea at high tide..... but there it was as usual, and I enjoyed photographing it from every angle, along with a few other photographers I have to say.

The best shots were from the far side, because of the light and sun, but it was difficult to get a reflection in the water this way. I waded out to a sandbank and managed to get a bit of a mirror image, but not too much. I liked the picture though.

So ends a very lovely weekend, I wonder what the week will bring. I hope good weather and happy days for all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.