The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Not a Word

I could not be more proud of our daughters today as they showed their truest form of patience and compassion today. We loaded up the car to drive back to the city. About one hour into the drive, it dawned on me that I had left my briefcase back at the cabin. Yes, I had a Giacomo moment. And the case was full of important files for my meetings tomorrow. There was no choice but to turn back and a felt like kicking myself right in my rear.

I felt terrible for my family and that my mistake would turn a three hour cruise into a five hour long car ride, much if it retracing the same path that we had just covered. I expected to hear complaints from the back of the car. Statements such as "Dad, how could you do that?" I know I would have likely said such at their age. But there was not a word. I looked back thinking they must have their headsets on and that they had not heard my declaration. But there were no headsets. The only thing I saw was acceptance and understanding and I heard words of ucompassiong. But I did not hear one gripe or complaint. And they remained that way and focused on their Kindles for the rest of the journey.

I was disappointed in myself but delighted that my daughters understand that there are inevitably unexpected twists and turns in the road of life and that have learned to accept them with grace and competence. Maybe my repeated forgetfulness has helped them to achieve this rare goal. I wish I had their touch.

I met up at the airport with some workmates from the office. We had dinner before the flight. Some of them went east to Gotham and some west to LA. I drew the shortest straw and have found myself in Wabash Indiana. Gotham, LA, Wabash...oh well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.