Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Wasp

This is only the second time I have been able to capture an image of this wasp. The first time, the image was not sharp enough to use for blip, but today I managed to fix that situation.

The problem is that wasps have such good eyesight and they can see you long before you stage your approach. Flash doesn't seem to bother them, but the size of your shape approaching will see them off. You have to approach from a low angle, such that your shape doesn't impose. Don't expect to be able to walk up, kneel and snag a shot or two, it just won't happen. The ideal approach would be under the cover of bushes.

I approached this specimen on all fours from behind a bush after observing it land on a leaf. Once I got the wasp in my view finder, it was obviously agitated and I only managed a couple of shots before it left for good.

I have had no luck after spending hours in the past, trying to find an identification. Indonesian wasps seem so poorly documented compared with the western countries.

At around an inch long, it is a beauty and I am very happy with the result.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.