lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

Streatham Common

When I was a child I lived near to Streatham Common. I remember going there around New Year when it was icy and in the summer to pick blackberries and run around the woodland and ornamental gardens of the Rookery.

On Saturday I had to visit the dentist who is still located in the area. It wasn't great news for my mouth as I managed to get TMJ pain and dry socket which is why I've not blipped till now as I've been in a lot of pain. The pain seems to be easing up though today. Afterwards, with my mouth numb from an injection, it seemed a shame to waste another sunny day so I wandered over to the Rookery. It was very busy, full of children. The water garden I loved as a kid is still there with its little streams cascading over rocks and in between the paths but it all seems smaller than it used to (unsurprisingly!). I managed to find a moment of calm by this ornamental fountain to take a photo without kids running around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.