Individuality

The friend who took me to Johnny Fox's during one of my hours-off sessions while in the Mater arrived again this morning to bring me out for coffee and chat. We went to a really nice place in Glasthule (easily within walking distance normally, and hopefully soon to be within walking distance again). I've temporarily forgotten the name of the place (Jigger's something?) but it's really nice; bright, airy, high-ceilinged. I had a gorgeous croissant and a little sponge cake with a cup of coffee. We spent an hour or so together, and very pleasant it all was.

I'd been for a bit of a walk before he arrived, and went for a longer one in the afternoon. The streets are laid out ideally around Carl's place, in neat blocks with parallel rows of buildings, all of which means that I can plan on increasingly longer block-sized walks as I progress. Today's afternoon walk was just that little bit longer than the morning one, and the plan is to gradually add a bit more each time. It felt good, even if I did have to stop to catch my breath at one stage.

They're all terrace houses in the immediate vicinity (old artisan dwellings, most of which have been done up and/or extended). This display of loud neighbouring door colours immediately caught my eye, and turned into the blip of the day without any real contest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.