A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

Sprinkles

A day of best laid plans lasting about as long as one of these sprinkler droplets.

--
For various reasons the car had to be fixed by the garage today. This was unfortunate because I had hoped to pay my respects at a funeral at lunchtime which required the use of the car. The garage's supposed timing should have been enough to return the car in time but that didn't happen. To be fair I had made it clear that doing the repair did have priority.

This morning I was wearing my suit (for the funeral; the office is usually casual) but come lunchtime I thought I may as well partake of the Thursday lunchtime exercises, and got changed accordingly only to find that had been cancelled due to sickness.

Weather being what it was I just changed my sports shorts for casual ones and stayed in T-shirt, shorts and trainers for the afternoon. Only one person commented on the rather dramatic change - software engineer's observation of clothes is pretty minimal at best.

--
"Clothes are the lowest priority for an engineer, assuming the basic thresholds for temperature and decency have been satisfied. If no appendages are freezing or sticking together, and if no genitalia or mammary glands are swinging around in plain view, then the objective of clothing has been met. Anything else is a waste." - Anon. but oft quoted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.