[blowfish]

By blowfish

king cone

Growing up here, I played guitar in a band in high school called the Icecream Men. Our singer Stephen, who lived down the street, made our graphic on Microsoft Paint and I bought an iron transfer kit that worked with our shitty bubble jet printer. We made t-shirts. Thought about that tonight as this dude came 'round. I don't recall an ice cream man coming around too much growing up here, maybe just once or twice, but it's a nice/typical slice of being an American kid in the summer, I think. Not sure how much this guy actually makes but he said he does it for fun during his retirement (I should have asked him what he retired from). Anyhow, that's my King Cone there--it was $4.50, which seemed expensive to me. But as my Dad said as we paid him (dad bought an ice cream sandwich, pictured, $3.50): "you can't put a price on nostalgia." Or the curbside service; or the twinkly (almost creepy) circus-like music that blares from his speakers. Anyhow, when I asked the ice cream man for a picture, he said to wait a second so he could put on his sunglasses. Please note that they are upside-down--I know that this was entirely intentional.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.