A Blip on the Reidar

By reidar

Angus McBride

When I was about twelve I read Tolkien's 'The Hobbit' and loved it. I of course went on and read The Lord of the Rings too but I always loved The Hobbit, in fact I've read it quite a few times, the last time was just last year. One of the things that brought to life the characters for me was seeing the illustrations that ran inside Iron Crown's roleplaying game Middle Earth Roleplaying (MERP) by the amazing artist Angus McBride. In particular I was hooked by his drawing of Sméagol.

I didn't even consider that I could draw until I was about this age, I never showed any real signs that I wanted to before then. But then the work of McBride and many more artists that I discovered changed that and his high standard of work was something I hoped I could reach for.

Angus McBride worked for many publications including the children's (or family's I should say) comic Look and Learn, where thousands of people become enthralled by his work. Many will have seen his work on the illustrative plates that accompany the Osprey reference books. And millions will know his work on MERP and so much more.

He died of a heart attack on the 15th of this month. I'd like to thank you Angus for inspiring me with your wonderful skill, I never met you but your work will live with so many that you pass from us like a dear lost friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.