hpx

By hpx

Two kids, a goat and a backside

There was also snow, another goat, a dog decorated with Christmas decorations, a 'sausage dog' with a blue wooly coat, a zillion kids (most of them hyperactive boys throwing snow), a guy dressed in a WW2 uniform standing on top of the snow, another similarly dressed guy trying to light something (possibly a WW2 bomb, though I didn't stick around to verify this).

Did I mention the music? Depending on where you stood Salmonella Dub or German Band music. I kid you not.

No, I wasn't on drugs (well not hallucinogenic ones anyway).

It was chaotic and you can probably tell, not entirely my idea of fun. Though I must admit I did quite like the quirky aspects and the richness of street blip potential. But I wasn't so keen on slipping, being knocked into, or copping a snow ball in the face (or camera).

I didn't fancy my chances in the melee so stayed on the edges. I was interested to note most parents cared little what or who their kids threw snow at - until a snow ball hit them. Then they cared a whole lot!

I was vaguely aware the Poplar Lane area (a part of town not far from where I live and close to where I often street blip) was having a midwinter thing today. What I didn't realise was this involved a truck load of snow from Mt Hutt and most Christchurch kids under 10 years old in a confined space.

This wasn't quite what had in mind when I stopped by. I'd awoken feeling stiff, jaded and not at all myself. After a few light domestics and a small errand, I thought I'd have a coffee then slip home for a long drape on the sofa.

At the end of the day I feel even more surreal. I've had visitors I din't expect and I'm feeling bone tired, sore and my immune system is possibly fighting off something. I think I'll stay in tomorrow, not open the door to any unexpected visitors and remain horizontal.

I had a couple of blip possibilities. I quite liked this one. The kids are intrigued with the goat and the goat has an expression on it's face possibly similar to mine at the time.

;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.